My Journey to Wonderland: Victorian Era Slaps Me

Since starting this story, the writing process has shown me a side of me I thought I lost a long time ago. I haven’t worked so hard for something in a long time, that it’s really exhilarating. I always thought, there was no way I could find who I am by just sitting down and writing/ drawing or reading my life away, but I’m apparently making progress. Little by little, this light novel I’m working on is showing me a new light to what used to be an already darkened path. What is this hard work I speak of? Well, keep reading…

After reaching midway of my first draft of My Alice, Sayuri , I finally decided at the exact time frame of my story, but after deciding, I realized, the dialogues and just the overall feel of the story is too modern.

So, now, since the story is set during the 1800s / 19th Century, I have to rewrite everything I’ve written. It’s not so much as a bummer, but when I started writing, I had another realization. I don’t know how to write in old English. I’m currently on a journey to read novels written during the Victorian Era. I also am thinking of adding more history into my story and adding a fantasy twist to it. I’m really excited. Below is a list of books I’m planning to read. I’m currently on #1.

The first author on my list is Jane Austen.

1. Persuasion

2. Pride and Prejudice

3. Emma

4. Sense and Sensibility

Jane Austen’s an author I’ve been meaning to read, but haven’t because I’ve been putting off. I’m also planning on reading some of the Bronte’s sisters books. Do you have a suggestion on who else should be on my list? A book you like?

 

Next part of my journey involves Alice (2009 syfy TV Series) that I watched this morning. It was such a coincidence, I tell you.

2 thoughts on “My Journey to Wonderland: Victorian Era Slaps Me

  1. You should take a look at Chelsea Quinn Yarbro. I’m not sure you like the genre but she is a fantastic historical writer. She weaves her character into various periods and cultures seamlessly. She would be a wonderful resource for someone writing historically.

    Think of rewrites as your story growing up needing to buy new clothes.:D

    • Thanks for the suggestion. Yarbro, after looking her up, sounds like an interesting writer. I’m tempted to read a few of her books now. 🙂 I’m especially leaning towards the The Atta Olivia Clemens novels because of the setting. Thanks so much, again! – June

Leave a Reply

