Poem 27

The Moment

Some things are supposed to be easier
with the help of destiny
and the what-nots of fate.
Karma was supposed to
secure the happenings.
Put out good and receive good.
That’s how it was expected.
The good things should roll in like good things
roll out
from the palms of my hand.
But they don’t.
Suddenly, I have to
work hard for what I want
to happen
because giving and never
receiving
wasn’t enough to fulfill
a selfish wish.

And it’s not like I particularly want this
and that I like complaining
about the things I don’t
have
because I don’t really care
for the moment he reaches out
his hand
to finally shake mine.
I don’t want our eyes
to meet
for that one second
as opposed to never
seeing
each other.

It’s not like these chances will just
disappear
so suddenly that I can’t catch up to
them anymore.
I don’t expect that happy ending like in a fairy tale
story made by Disney,
no, I just wish for a little
adventure,
change in the daily
routine
I carry out.
I just want to make
memories
that I can recall back to
and reminisce
and repeat like a song stuck in my head.

I just want
another moment
to add to the list
and never
forget.

Leave a Reply

