Poem 39

This Life

I didn’t ask for this life,

it fell between my dreams

and the gravity of reality.

It whispered in my ear

the satisfaction of compromise.

The fool that I am

believed that I comprehended

the situation at hand.

I thought I was leaving

poverty behind

in exchange for a chance

to reach potentiality;

not once did I think then

that I was giving up

half my heart to empty

promises.

The gift of chance

disguised itself beautifully

in colors so familiar.

I’d forgotten to check twice

in case trickery be played on me.

Masked with the same feeling

I was pulled away slowly

from my dream

and onto the ground,

pounded by the gravity of reality.

I didn’t ask for this life.

Leave a Reply

