Poem 42

7 Days

sunday,
i let my hair
down
despite
the california heat
i wear shorts
in contrast
to my reserve
nature
not so you’ll notice
me, but
to assure
myself
i’m not lacking
in anyway.

monday…
TWENTY dollars
even at 22
allowance is all
i’ve got
stuffed in the pockets
of my jeans
like some
lifeline
given by my
mother.

tuesday,
i’m all alone
in a two story
house
with a dog
barking
for attention
i can’t give.

wednesday,
falls strangely
in the middle of the week
and the only day
with a W.

thursday
was a favorite day
until i grew older
and turned
into
the day
you left me
and i couldn’t do
anything
about the distance
that grew
between us.

friday
makes the week easier
to fight through
as it promises
a fun night.

saturday
tells me
that i’ve made it
and again
my 7 days
repeat.

One thought on “Poem 42

Leave a Reply

