Poem 46

Don’t Tell Me

don’t tell me
i’ve got it all mixed up
that i shouldn’t
act the way that i do
and to be thankful
for what has been
done in my behalf
because i am more than
aware of the sacrifices
for my success
more than those
who sacrificed for me.

don’t tell me
what i’ve got to say
and what i’ve got to do
just because you’ve
said and done
what others are
also doing.

don’t tell me
i’ve got no manners
for not verbally thanking
my father on this particular
day in the year
and to be thankful
for what has been
done in my behalf
because i know and understand
that he’s lost
and gained
just as much as i have
with this endeavor.

don’t tell me
unless you’ve been here
and lived the life
i’ve lived
and know first hand
this isn’t father’s day
but only a regular day
for a father like my own.

don’t tell me.
and i won’t tell you.

circa 2014, velajune

Leave a Reply

