Poem 51

inspired by: Wings by Birdy

Think of You

the summer heat,
waves of the sun reaching down
to warm
me
is a great reminder
of the days
we’d spent together
every year
around this time, this season.

you bring the m&ms
and I bring cola
to quench the thirst that only soda
can do.

these memories, they
made me think of you.

i remember
how i used to laugh and run,
of how we played
like children.

i could chase you
and never run out
of energy,
because i knew you’d let me
catch
you.

the thought of us
sitting on the porch talking
has gotten me
lost in the dreams
of my past
where i should have left you.

but these memories, they
made me think of you.

i was lost that night
when your hand struck my face,
because i’d never
been hit before,
nor betrayed by feelings
i trusted
with all my heart and soul.

you stood there
watching the tears fall
from her face,
watching me burn
with fury,
clenching my hand so tightly,
that even now,
i remember it all
just by the sight of my palm.

nothing changed,
you never called,
didn’t return.

i remember it all and they
made me think of you.

 

Leave a Reply

