Poem 80

rheanne 005

Really…

…half the things I say
is a version of the truth
or the omission.
in the end, isn’t it all,
an elaborate string of lies?

…who else could fall for it
but everyone who has ever thought
that I could never tell a lie
because once a good girl
always a good girl.

…I’m good at making them
with detail laced with reality,
embelished with fiction
because I am an artist,
I am a writer.

…I have lied all my life
telling you how great I felt
or how I could never be let down
by broken promises
and endless berates.

…they roll out of my tongue,
slip from my lips
like poisonous melody,
bating you to believe
every syllable, every word.

…shamelessly, even to my reflection,
I will recite meaningless compliments
of how beautiful I see myself,
how loved I should feel,
and how I never cry because of you.

One thought on “Poem 80

Leave a Reply

