Movie Night 05

I actually watch a lot of movies recently.

Netflix is a place for binge watching, I promise.

For this Movie Night Friday #05, let’s talk about Moonrise Kingdom starring Jared Gilman, and Kara Hayward. I think, this movie falls greatly on identity, comedy, romance, and coming-of-age.

Well, when I say let’s talk about the film, I really mean, let’s talk about how I related to it. lol

mk

I was going through some tough times when I was watching this movie. I was having one of those down moments, depression kicking in again. And this was a good breakaway from that.

It’s a movie definitely for pre-teens and up, I would say. Finding ourselves and figuring out where we belong in the world is a them that most people can relate to. This movie had a lot of that. Making the right choices- the morally right or the emotionally right because they’re not always the same. In the movie there’s a lot of that. We see his foster parents make an emotionally right decision. We see her mom make both. We see the cop make both in two different occasions. Etc.

It was such a fun and great movie that really opens your eyes to different possibilities and to, like a cliche, not judge a book by its cover.

There was so much depth in the film. A lot of them we subtle things from their sending letters to each other for over a year to the sharing of smoke equaling infidelity.

Beautiful film that gave me a lot to think about.

I most definitely recommend this film if you haven’t watched it before. Story line wise, it’s definitely on point. Casting, acting, cinematography- just everything was beautifully executed.

Leave a Reply

