writing summaries?

tumblr_ohw2ynpsqk1rs8b72o1_500

I’ve been around and about Wattpad for almost half a year trying to decide whether to put my story up or not. I decided I would share it not too long ago, over the weekend, and have been seeking some feedback on writing. Advices, really.

Here’s my blurb/summary for my story Are You Listening? This is Georgiana.

Georgiana Mendoza had enough of running and the best way to stop was to run one last time. She’s been stuck, unable to make the next move in her life and with her twenty-fifth birthday looming over her head, she feels time is just about run out for her. Transplanting from one country to another was nothing new to her after all, the Philippines to the Americas and now to the country of love, France. She’s been running her entire life, what was one more run?
In the hopes of figuring out where her life is meant to lead her, she embarks on a journey that forces her to face demons she’d been afraid to even think of. From dreamcatchers, rosaries, bandages, and an old razor, she’ll have to recall her past if she ever wants to move forward with her life.
It’s been edited recently compared to the one I have posted here on my blog.
I’m supposed to introduce the conflict, right? Do I? Have I done it right? I’m not even an English major. Every inspiration I have for writing are the classes I took in high school. I’m not talking ideas for stories but the general want to write anything. Blogging? Inspired by my English classes and need to rant or vent. So, I’m not at all specifically trained. Despite that, I think I do a pretty good job. No? I’m not belittling my teachers. They did a wonderful job. I’m just second guessing myself, as usual.
What about you? What inspired you to write?
Leave a Reply

